Brown Skin

Claudia Balthazar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On my face is not my inner desires,

Is not my faults and my wants,

Is not my past relationships and a thousand mistakes

On my face is not my soul, who I am

But on my face is my brown skin

And in my brown skin is my history

And in my history is the Martin Luther Kings

Great men that did great things

There’s the Rodney Kings

Beaten and oppressed.

 

And in my history is the fallen of a great man

And the rise of a great man

There’s everything

There’s sin and there’s forgiveness

There’s hope, there’s braveness.

 

On my face is not my soul, who I am

But on my face is my brown skin

And in my brown skin there’s my now

And in my now, there’s dreams and hopes for better tomorrow’s

But in my now there’s Trayvon Martin sorrows

But then there’s the ones who seem to have forgotten oppressions

Who are behind the triggers and pull the triggers

Who embrace it when their brothers call them niggers.

And in my now there’s the television drama fights,

Dead beats and uneducated baby mamas,

But in my now, there’s hope of more Obamas

Of brighter futures and better days,

The realization that we are no longer slaves.

 

On my face is not my inner desires

Is not my faults and my wants

Is not my past relationships, and a thousand mistakes

On my face is not my soul, who I am

But on my face is my brown skin

And in my brown skin there is my mother

And in my brown skin, there is me.

 

And people, I am Not my skin, but I love the skin I’m in.

 

-Claudia Balthazar

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Brown Skin

  1. Arielle says:

    wow that was really great, i enjoyed it 😀

Leave a Reply

