What Does it Mean

Sisterhood by Kolongi

What does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

How can you prejudge me on the color of my complexion

If you knew my story, you would know there is room for correction

What does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

 

Well my scars don’t all show

But since you are one to judge you probably already know

I came into the world with the odds against me

Came from a strong line of woman who knew how to be

A wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an auntie, the provider and nurturer

But day after day constantly fight through all the torture

What does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

 

I had an aunt who was abused

Lied on and mistreated and harshly used

To see the pain in my mama’s eyes

Made me sit and wonder why

How does she even have the strength to even try

How can I stop my mama’s cry

But again I say, What does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

 

I have a mommom who can light up your world

I was always considered mommom’s little girl

What was I to do when she received that news

Sorry ma’am you seem to have caught Breast Cancer too

How can she go through all the medicine and treatment

And continue to be full of life and always vibrant

So what does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

 

Oh here’s one, what about my friend controlled and manipulated by men

What about her constant desire to be classified as a ten

Or what about that awful day, that one man who took it all away

Took something that is a jewel but he didn’t consider that he forced himself and had his way

What was I to say, what was I to do

I just sat there and listened to her story as a friend because the bond we had seemed like the only thing true

And I sit here and ask myself, What does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

 

We are women of valor and integrity

We go day by day with our heads held high, striving for victory

We are judged and taken granted for

But we never stopped loving those we adore

We fight day in and day out

But we don’t sit around because a smart woman knows there is no time to pout

We are strong for our kids and try our best to support them in all they do

We go from job to job working hard to give them a life that will be new

We are women full of life and beauty

We strive day by day to live up to our duty

We come in all different shapes, colors, and sizes

We should be cherished and treated as prizes

 

What does it mean to be an African American or Black woman

It means that you don’t live to the standard of any man

You have hopes and dreams that you try hard to succeed

You don’t look for handouts and you don’t complain about what you need

You learn how to live and conquer tough times

Because even if you fall you’ve learned to get back up and climb

The meaning is that you can’t be defined

We are women with tough skin and fight against the odds of men

 

Now what does it mean to you to be an African American or Black woman

-Arielle Burton

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What Does it Mean

  1. Christina says:

    beautifully written!

  2. Arielle says:

    thank you so much 😀

Leave a Reply

