Team Building: Trip to Governor’s Island

Gov Island Sign 1Going to Governor’s Island with HUABJ reminded me of trips with my family.  Although, my family and I weren’t coming off the ferry to go to Staten Island, it was still fun to explore the harbor. Times like that is what I miss most about home.

My favorite part of the trip was exploring the different art exhibitions on the island. The art exhibitions were Gov Island Artinspirational, innovative and entertaining. The creativity that each artist expressed was quite breath-taking. I’m very fond of artistic expression and anything that spells out someone’s creativity instantly captures my attention.

Going on this trip definitely made me more comfortable with the idea of joining HUABJ. The fall 2013 president, Claudia Balthazar was very informative, supportive, and quite friendly.

Honestly, I’ve always considered myself a writer. Being a part of this organization will give me the skills I need to develop in the future. I want to work in the writing field and film industry. I know that HUABJ will help me with my goals.

The only concern I have is learning how to manage all of my responsibilities to this organization, my school work, and other clubs. As a first-year student transitioning into Hofstra, I see that I have a lot of options to get involved on campus. I know that’s what college is all about.

Gov Island Xavier

Xavier Edward, Photo Editor 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

